|Reputation FAQ: Bards
- How will the Provocation skill work?
- Provoking a creature sets the bard as the creature's
controller. As soon as the provoked creature attacks another
target, the bard is no longer the controller of that creature.
If the creature attacks an Innocent (different from the
original target) after the initial provocation, then the
bard will no longer be the controller, and the bard will
not be flagged as a Criminal or Aggressor towards
The following explains how provoking a creature to
attack a target relates to Karma, Fame and Criminal
- Creatures dying as a result of Provocation does
result in Fame or Karma gain for the Bard.
- If the target is a pet or good NPC, the bard is
flagged as a Criminal. If the pet or good NPC dies,
the bard will lose Karma.
- If the target is an Innocent, the bard is flagged
as a Criminal and Aggressor and he can be reported
as a Murderer if the Innocent dies. (This will also
result in the normal Karma loss associated with being
- How long do I remain set as the controller?
- As long as the creature is in combat with the original
- Will successful use of the Peacemaking skill remove
my name from a creature's controller status?
- No. Your name will be removed as soon as the creature
attacks another target.
- Earl the Bard, an innocent, provokes the Collector
of Souls (a Balrog) to attack a lesser Daemon. The Balrog
kills the Daemon, then immediately attacks the Innocent
Bob, another player in the room. Bob dies. The Balrog
moves on to attack several other players and only after
a large group of them has perished is it killed in its
weakened state by Mac the Mage.
- Is Earl an Aggressor? If so, to whom?
- Earl is not an Aggressor to anyone.
- Is Earl a criminal?
- Earl is not flagged a Criminal.
- Can Earl be reported as a murderer?
- No, because he did not provoke the Balrog to attack
an Innocent directly.
- What happens to Earl's Karma?
- What happens to Earl's Fame?